According to the Vedas, Gemstones are crystals of power that have a specific ability to aid a person in aligning their energy with the Universal energy.

Using the wisdom of Ayurveda, Vedic Astrology, Gemstones, Yoga Therapy, Mantra and Mala, I create beautiful sacred objects.


Gems are as storehouses of divine and planetary energy.  Ancient scriptures from across the world have praised gems as powerful agents of energy that influence human fate and destiny, induce good energy, and expel the negative energy.


The ancient sages saw the world as a whole.  They saw man as an indivisible part and a microcosm of the macrocosm of the surrounding universe.  They saw that the human body and psyche are influenced by the celestial bodies, the stars and planets of our solar system. 


It is my passion to create beautiful Malas that are most beneficial for your practice and life.  Your Mala is customized with the guidance from your own Vedic Birth Chart.  Your Mala can be used in Japa Mala Meditation or worn as an adornment.


A mala (Sanskrit for “garland”) is a counting device.


It is used to count the number of mantra recitations completed during a period of meditation—one repetition per bead. A mala can also serve as a physical cue for reciting a mantra.

Walking down the street with one hand in a pocket, fingers sliding from bead to bead, the mind quietly sustains the mantra as a background to other activities occurring closer to the surface of attention.

A mala usually contains 108 beads (although some malas are made with half or even a quarter of this number). An additional bead, the tasseled bead called the meru bead, indicates the beginning and end of each cycle. Despite the fact that the mala has 108 beads, only 100 repetitions are credited for a trip around. Thus, “8 malas” equals 800 repetitions of the mantra. Giving credit for only 100 repetitions per mala makes counting easier, and it also acknowledges the unfortunate fact that the mind is wandering for part of the meditation anyway.

Good malas have knots between each bead. This prevents the beads from sliding into one another, from abrading the string (the sutra), and from separating as the string stretches with wear. If the knots are tied too tightly the mala will be stiff and won’t hang easily in the hand. Conversely, if the knots are too far apart, the beads will slide and wear down the string. So you’ll find that a well-tied mala is a source of both comfort and convenience.

Mala beads can be made of many materials. Some are specially suited for particular meditative practices or are thought to have unique properties. For example, malas made of the rudraksha (“eye of rudra”) seed, a seed found in just a few locations in the world, are said to be particularly appropriate for the practice of mantras connected to Shiva. Crystal or zirconium malas can be used for the practice of a mantra called the Gayatri mantra, a purifying mantra. Lapis is said to help remove illnesses.



The mythology of Vedic Gemstones.


In the Garuda Purana there is a story of the great demon king Bali. He became invincible by good conduct and austerity.  (I find it hilarious that a demon king can become invincible by good conduct.  But hey, if you want special powers you better do some good!)  He defeated all the gods and demigods.  Indra, Lord of the Devas, assumed the form of a priest and went to the demon king as a beggar and asked him for alms.  Indra was not specific as to what he wanted for alms, yet Bali gave his word to fulfill the beggar’s wish. The disguised Indra then said that he planned to perform his sacrificial rites and that he wanted Bali to become an animal to be sacrificed.  Bali accepted and assumed the form of a buffalo.  The gods and the demigods sacrificed him.  Because Bali offered his body as sacrifice with benevolence, he became pure and transformed into the creative seeds of precious gems. 


  • His bones fell onto earth and transformed into diamonds
  • His teeth transformed into pearls of oyster as well as conch, whale, snakes, wild boar, elephant, clouds and bamboo.
  • His blood was evaporated by sunlight. A demon king compelled it to fall into a river in Sri Lanka.  The river Ravan Ganga became the bed of rubies.
  • His bile was being carried by the king of snakes and the eagle god Garuda forced him to spill a drop on earth which transformed into emeralds.
  • His eyes fell onto earth and became blue sapphires
  • His skin fell onto the Himalayas and became yellow and white sapphires
  • His yell turned into cat's-eye
  • His arms and other parts of the body became other precious gemstones
  • His fat became quartz
  • The rest of his body turned into agate.

After the formation of the gems the nine planets distributed all the gems among themselves.

A verse quoted in the “Mani-mala” as well as in the ancient “Jataka Parijata,” chap. 2, sloka 21 compiled by Sri Vaidyanatha Dikshitar (son of Venkata-dhari), and reads in Sanskrit as follows:

Manikyam taraneh sujatyamamalam muktaphalam shitagoh
maheyasya cha vidrumao nigaditah saumyasya-garutmakam
devejyasya cha pushparagam asura-achryasya vajram shaneh
nilam nirmalamanyayoshcha gadite gomeda-vaiduryake


1) Ruby (Manikya) for the Sun,
2) Pearl (Mukta) for the Moon,
3) Coral (Prawal) for Mars,
4) Emerald (Markat) for Mercury,
5) Yellow sapphire (Pushpraga) for Jupiter,
6) Diamond (Vajra) for Venus,
7) Blue sapphire (Neelmani) for Saturn,
8) Hessonite (Gomed) for Rahu (the ascending node of the Moon)
9) Cat’s eye (Vaidurya) for Ketu (the descending node of the Moon)



The Sanskrit word for Planet is "Graha."


There are no simple translations of Sanskrit words.  EVERYTHING has meaning.  Every single syllable introduces meaning. So the word "Graha" translated into planet is a simplified rendering.   The deeper meaning "Graha" refers to an entity that has the power to "seize, lay hold of, or grasp."  Therefore, Graha means “to grasp,” as in the planets that take hold of us. In turn, this is intimately related to the nakshatras (also known as lunar mansions, or 27-fold divisions of the zodiac), which are described in similar terms.

Graha therefore points  beyond the singular physical planets and refers to the ability of celestial events to influence occurrences on earth.  The word “Graha” conveys a much deeper meaning than the word “planet,” which is not technically correct. The nine Grahas (“Planets”) are called Surya / Ravi (the Sun), Chandra / Sandu (the Moon), Mangal / Kuja (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Guru / Brahpathi (Jupiter), Shukra / Sikuru (Venus), Shani / Senasuru (Saturn), Rahu (Northern lunar node) and Ketu (Southern lunar node). The Sun is not a planet, it is a star. Rahu and Ketu are not planets, and indeed do not even represent physical entities.

The Grahas are divided into two groups, according to their general auspicious and inauspicious nature. The Sanskrit terms used to name these two groups are “Saumya” or benefic, and “Krura" or malefic. The Waxing Moon, Mercury, Jupiter and Venus are known as beneficial. The Sun, Saturn, Mars, Waning Moon, Rahu and Ketu are classified as malefic.